Browse by

DukeEngage announces 2012 Leadership in Civic Engagement Award recipients

  • 11.14.12
  • Posted By: Eric Van Danen

DukeEngage is pleased to announce this year's Leadership in Civic Engagement Award recipients.

Ralph Litzinger, Faculty Mentor, China

The DukeEngage Excellence in Mentoring Award is presented to a faculty mentor or administrator who demonstrates exceptional mentorship to DukeEngage independent project participants, and exemplary leadership and vision in promoting civic engagement within higher education.

Antonio Arce, DukeEngage in Santiago, Chile

The DukeEngage Program Director Leadership Award recognizes exemplary leadership, including direction in advancing students’ civic learning, fostering reciprocal community partnerships, and building institutional commitments to civic engagement and student development.

Tyler Huffman, DukeEngage in Beirut, Lebanon

The DukeEngage Site Coordinator Leadership Award is presented to a site coordinator who demonstrates extraordinary mentorship, leadership, and vision in advancing students’ civic learning and development. The recipient also provides exemplary vision in promoting the principles of collaboration, reciprocity and common purpose.

Honorary Award recipients this year include: (Faculty Mentor) Baishakhi Taylor, India, and (Site Coordinator) Keith Errickson, DukeEngage in Durban, South Africa & Kaola Swanson, DukeEngage in Portland. 

The award recipients were honored at a ceremony on Friday, Nov. 9.  

See a video of the awards ceremony.

Read all of this summer's student-written blogs. 

    • DukeEngage Cairo